Week 2 – Workout #1

So I’m working myself into the routine nicely (sticking to my periodization plan), I’m past the stage of being crippled by DOMS the day after working out, and I’m starting to push myself more each session.

Today didn’t go so well. I came back from staying at my girlfriends in Surrey over night, when I arrived home I was so tired, I had to have a nap. After about 3 hours sleep and getting my bag together it was 3:30pm before I was in the gym, and I started work at 6pm! In order to make sure I get all of the exercises done, I had to do half of my workout today, and I’ll do the other half + a small bit extra tomorrow.

Anyway, after starting the session with a 5 minute warm up, here is how it went:

Squats

squat1Warm up set: 12xbar
Set 1: 
6x65kg
Set 2: 6x70kg
Set 3: 6x75kg

Squats are going up nicely, I’m looking to hit 80kg next session.

 

  Bench Press:

Bench-Press

Warm up set: 15xbar
Set 1: 12×47.5kg
Set 2: 12×47.5kg
Set 3: 8×47.5kg
Set 4: 6×47.5kg

I’m not making as much progress as I would like on bench at the moment, its normally my fastest progress.

T bar row

137_2

Set 1: 12x30kg
Set 2: 12x30kg (one pause)
Set 3: 12x30kg (four rests)

 

This exercise is another one that is not increasing so fast, although I have decreased the rest time from this exercise on-wards throughout the rest of the workout.

  Military Press

arnold-lifting-shoulder

Set 1: 12x25kg
Set 2: 12x30kg
Set 3: 8x30kg (one big rest)

Pushed the weight up for this exercise today, hopefully I will be able to get at least 2 sets of 12 next session.

Hamstring Curls

52_2Set 1: 12x40kg
Set 2: 12x45kg
Set 3: 12x45kg

 

 

 

 

Anyway its getting late now, so I have got to get to bed and get myself some sleep before part 2 of the workout tomorrow!

Song of the workout:

Thanks for reading guys!


Twitter: @SMsimplefitness

Leave a Reply

